Black Joy Experience

Liberation House Black Joy Experience

[ Atlanta, GA.]  Artist, cultural worker and executive director of the non-profit Liberation House, Jonathan Lykes, is excited to announce the release of “The Black Joy Experience Vol. 2: Comrade,” a 17-track music compilation featuring liberation anthems and freedom songs that celebrate the Black and Queer experience.

“The Black Joy Experience Vol. 2: Comrade” is a rousing, uplifting sonic journey that, according to Lykes “carries on the aim for social justice that our ancestors started.” Case in point, the lead single and video, “Ella Baker Shaker,” is a high-energy tribute to the 1960s civil rights activist and features the Queen of New Orleans Bounce herself, Big Freedia.

“We have to recognize who came before us,” says Big Freedia of Ella Baker Shaker. “There’s been lots of discussion about justice and healing,” says Big Freedia. “Sometimes joy gets lost in all of it.

Ultimately Lykes says he hopes that this series (there will be more to come this year) will amplify resistance through music, art and cultural production, and adds that  “the Black Joy Experience Series is a loving invitation for you to join the pursuit and defining of our collective liberation”

Other artists on the project include, Ebonee Davis, AK Songstress and Oliv Blu. Production is shared by J. Lykes Productions and Betvncourt Production Company. For press inquiries, please contact Nicole Balin at Ballin PR e. or Trevor Seamon at Score Press e.

Album Title: The Black Joy Experience Vol. 2: Comrade

  1. It’s About Time (Chant) – The B.J.E. Collective (feat. Niya Rechice, Phoebe Vancleefe, BK King & Aaron Talley)
  2. Ella Baker Shaker – Jonathan Lykes (feat. Big Freedia)
  3. Life Life Meditation (Chant) – The B.J.E. Collective (feat. Damon Williams)
  4. Comrade – Jonathan Lykes (feat. The B.J.E. Collective)
  5. Life Life (Reprise) – Jonathan Lykes (feat. The B.J.E. Collective)
  6. 1000 Generations – Jonathan Lykes (feat. AK Songstress)
  7. Home (Message) – The B.J.E. Collective (feat. Vine Adams)
  8. Home – The B.J.E. Collective (feat. Charity Hicks, Brittany Carter, Oliv Blu, Catrina Brenae, Dequadray White, Denzel Bester)
  9. Fight! (Chant) – The B.J.E. Collective (feat Bridgette Simpson & Kei Slaughter)
  10. Haibo Wena – Mansa Maca & Jonathan Lykes (feat. The B.J.E. Collective West Africa)
  11. Got to be Free – The B.J.E. Collective (feat. Suyá Synergy & Maven Lee)
  12. Light the Fire – Tyson Evans & Jonathan Lykes (feat. The B.J.E. Collective)
  13. B.W.O. – The B.J.E. Artist Collective (feat. D. Williams, S. Drake, T. Foster, D. Xavier, A. Brown, T. DuWhite, P. French, J. Pagan, J. Lykes)
  14. What is Black? (Message) – The B.J.E. Collective West Africa (feat. The Writer Adeola)
  15. Azania – The B.J.E. Collective (feat. Catrina Brenae)
  16. Azania (Reprise) – The B.J.E. Collective (feat. I-Tribe, Jonathan Lykes)

Liberation House Anthem – Jonathan Lykes (feat. Big Freedia)

As Black queer communities continue in the lineage of the political and cultural mandates woven into black radical tradition, black organizers across the United States came together to release an album, The Black Joy Experience. This musical compilation of original Black freedom songs and liberation chants seeks to uplift Black activism and political participation through a message of joy, healing and holistic energy. “Let’s be clear. Without joy, we won’t win in 2019 or beyond. Without joy, we won’t survive. Without joy, we will never heal. And without joy, we can’t love radically. But through the experience of Black joy, we will conjure up dreams of freedom that our ancestors will be proud of,” said Jonathan Lykes, the founder and co-producer of The Black Joy Experience.

The Black Joy Experience seeks to build holistic energy praxis in movement and organizing spaces as a mechanism to cultivate joy, love, healing, resiliency and a commitment to envision the next 50-100 years of Black and Brown cultural, political and economic futures. These themes are critical to the survival of Black and Brown bodies during an era where the very support for our humanity is being stripped away, as the historical pattern of white supremacy dehumanizing the lives of the truly disadvantaged continues. The Black Joy Experience Tour is a series of place based events hosted across the globe, towards the goal of teaching, building and sustaining political participation centered around joy. The Black Joy Experience tour aims to engage people of the diaspora in four sessions: (1) political education around a shared history, (2) holistic energy and healing praxis (3) cultural production through interactive performance, and (4) centering joy in our collective aims toward liberation.

Check out all the albums on